Managing the Grocery Store

groceries

Here are a few tips I’ve figured out.

Plan out Recipes ahead of time

Ladies, this is the time to hop onto Pinterest, and search it up. Find a bunch you like, and save them to a board. Then, go back and decide which are best with your specials in the area. This weeks list for me is as follows. I always like to get some recipes and look at how I can maybe change it up as I go.

Recipes
Name Original Link
Zuppa Toscana Soup http://www.cookingclassy.com/2012/12/zuppa-toscana-soup-olive-garden-copycat-recipe/
Slow Cooker Clam Chowder http://thesuburbansoapbox.com/2014/02/21/lighter-new-england-clam-chowder/
Slow Cooker Pork Tacos http://www.keepingyourcents.com/good-eatin-recipe-hop/
Slow Cooker Cheeseburger Casserole http://www.dizzybusyandhungry.com/crockpot-cheeseburger-casserole/
Honey Glazed Baby Carrots http://damndelicious.net/2013/11/25/honey-glazed-baby-carrots/
Brussel Sprouts http://www.keviniscooking.com/roasted-brussels-sprouts-balsamic-vinegar-honey/
Garlic Roasted Potatoes http://damndelicious.net/2014/07/23/garlic-parmesan-roasted-potatoes/
Honey Walnut Shrimp http://damndelicious.net/2013/07/16/honey-walnut-shrimp/#nonCarded=1
Skinny Broccoli Salad http://www.skinnymom.com/2011/11/22/skinny-broccoli-salad/

Organize Your Grocery List

The worst thing that can happen is coming home and realizing you forgot that one key ingredient. A list is a guide to your store time, saving you time and potential grief. This is my weeks groceries (keep in mind, if you’re doing all the recipes I chose above, you may need a few more things. I chose these recipes because I already had certain things- like kale and potatoes)

Groceries
Produce Meat
2 heads fresh broccoli, chopped 4 lb pork shoulder
1 head fresh cauliflower, chopped 1 lb chopped clams
1 Red Bell Pepper 1 50-count bag littleneck clams
1 Green Bell Pepper 1 lb italian sausage
1 Red Onion Bacon
2 Tomatoes 1 lb medium shrimp
Fresh Parsley 1 lb lean ground turkey
2 Anaheim peppers Dairy
Cilantro Sharp Cheddar Cheese
1 Large Onion Tricolor Slaw Mix
2 Celery stalks 2 Half & Half
Garlic Cloves Low Fat Milk
Fresh Thyme Shredded Cheddar
Russet or Yellow Potatoes Boxed
1 1/2 lb Brussel Sprouts 12 Corn Tortillas
1 bag baby carrots Cornstarch
Onion 3 (14.5 oz) cans Chicken Broth
1 Medium Tomato Fresh Dill?
Seasonings Consended Milk
Green Olives Mayonnaise
Ranch Dressing Pickles
Salt
Lime Juice

Know the Specials

Sprouts, a great local marketplace around Denver provides a booklet of monthly specials, and another for weekly specials. Take advantage of these! Pick your recipe’s by what’s on sale or in season.

Boxed vs. Fresh

There are times to hit up your local super market and there are items you’re just better off at getting at the Superstore right down the road. I am weary of Walmart produce, but you cant beat most of their canned good or dairy prices. I know, I know, it can sometimes to be a bit of a chore to stop at two store in your grocery shopping, but your wallet will be thanking you.

Walmart:

  • Canned Vegetable, Fruits, Tomatoes
  • Chicken Breasts or Drumsticks (can be down to $1.99/lb)
  • Dressings
  • Dairy Products (Stick Butter, Milk)

Produce Store (I Use Sprouts out here in Denver):

  • Vegetables
  • Onions
  • Meat
  • Fruit
  • Specialty Cheeses

Save Receipts

I just recently began pushing myself to do this, and trust me, it is worth it! First off, you can start budgeting weekly groceries by following your spending behavior. Now if you’re REALLY on top of things, log everything in a spreadsheet. It will allow you to see where you’re spending the most. I also keep receipts so I can remember any good deals from last week.

 

grocery-lists

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s